Welcome to 100 in 52 by 30!

Hello world! My name is Alex and I am a 28 year old graduate student living and working in Lexington, Kentucky. I’ve struggled with my weight for nearly my entire life – and after spending years thinking “there’s got to be something” – I found out that I have polycystic ovarian syndrome, an autoimmune disorder which causes hypothyroidism, and gluten sensitivity. For a long time it’s been easy to tell myself that no matter how hard I try, these problems are going to hold me back. Last year, I managed to lose 50 pounds by changing my diet and swimming – I was maintaining this loss until I experienced a set back: an ankle fracture. As a result, I am starting from scratch, but with a different mindset. No longer will I let my medical problems determine my wellness.

I will be turning 29 on September 30, 2013 (19 days!) – and I’ve decided now is the time to reclaim wellness. I’ve challenged myself to lose 100 pounds before my 30th birthday. I know it will require hard work – and there will be disappointments along the way – but I am determined to find wellness before starting the next decade of my life.

Join me as I take this journey toward health and wellness while attempting to balance a full course load in graduate school, and a live-in job in student affairs at the greatest university in the SEC.

10 thoughts on “Welcome to 100 in 52 by 30!

  1. I’m so excited for you, Alex! I am rooting for you! I set out with similar ambition before reaching my 30th (which is just 4.5 short months away now) and I’m now experiencing the same set back with a broken ankle! (Although, getting around on crutches has turned out to be quite a bit of a work out!) I wish you all the best on your journey and I look forward to following you as you go along! 😊

    • Emily – ankle fractures are ridiculous, right? I couldn’t get going on crutches (as a result of how out of shape I am, honestly) – so I just hobbled a lot once I was able. For about two weeks, though, I mostly just sat. Boy was that boring.

    • Kat – I have more than 100 total that I’d like to lose, but, 100 would likely take me off of any medication that I am on (with the exception of my thyroid meds) – and I will feel so much better! We’re in it together – even from a distance. It sure would be nice to see you guys and meet Josie!

      • We’re trying to scheme a trip to Louisville with Josie at some point to visit my sister, we’ll likely drive. I would love to try and make a side trip happen. I’ll be in touch when we decide to take the long road trip plunge!

    • I would *love* to be able to see you all! I didn’t realize that you had family in Louisville now! It’s not too far for me, I’d be happy to drive over for lunch or dinner. Let me know when you make plans!

  2. I’m excited for you and I believe in you!! Thanks for inspiring me to do the same. You look beautiful now but I can’t wait to see your progress! Best of luck!

Leave a comment